Friday, April 15, 2011

Potential new Sirius / XM channels

As a result of a voluntary merger commitment, at least twelve channels (six on XM and six on Sirius) have been set aside for leasing to "qualified entities."
Here's a breakdown of applicants and what they might plan to program on each of their potential satellite radio channels:

3MR, LLC - No idea. Googling inconclusive.
Bill Bragg DBA Yesterday USA Radio - Obviously, Old Time Radio from http://www.yesterdayusa.com/.
BYU Broadcasting - Probably http://www.byuradio.org/about/.
Common Frequency, Inc - Student & community broadcasters? http://beta.commonfrequency.org/node/1
Corelink Radio - Christian Hip Hop / Holy Hip Hop / Rhythm & Praise http://www.corelinkradio.com/
Creative Hyperbole - News/Talk - perhaps some sort of interactive format trying to advance civil discourse? http://creativehyperbole.com/
CRN Digital Talk Radio - Talk - Seems like this could be a mix of talk hosts that have been heard in the past on Sirius and/or XM, but perhaps also a few that have never been heard before. May not make the final cut though, if CRN is deemed to have had a previous relationship with SXM. http://crntalk.com/
Davidzon Media - Russian News/Talk/Music (Full Service?) - They'd need to rerun a few things to get a full 24 hours occupied, but they could probably do it. http://www.davidzonradio.com/
Delmarva Broadcasting Company - Music - Perhaps they would broadcast their "Graffiti Radio" format? http://www.graffitiradio.com/index.cgi?do=top30 www.delmarvabroadcasting.com
DropZone Multimedia - Music / Talk / ? - May be disqualified due to potential previous relationship with XM. Could have "activist" left-leaning talk format. Seems like they would be very open to letting non-profits buy time on their potential satellite channel. - http://www.dropzonedc.com/
Entravision Communications Corporation - Hispanic Music - http://www.entravision.com/
Eventus Marketing, Inc. - Hispanic Music - http://hol.hispaniconline.com/HE/2007_10/Features-S&M.html
Friends of WWOZ-FM, Inc. - Jazz/Blues/R&B - http://www.wwoz.org/
Global Radio Network, Inc. - MOYL (Music Of Your Life?) - http://www.musicofyourlife.com/ (Global also has other formats, so no guarantees.)
Goodrich Radio, LLC. - Humanist Talk (Pacifica & Mix of Podcasts) - "Public Reality Radio - Rational Patriotism" - http://www.publicrealityradio.org/about-wprr
Howard University - R&B and/or Progressive R&B/World - Possibly WHUR-FM http://www.whur.com/ or WHUR World http://www.whurworld.com/ ?
iClick2Media - Long list of formats, see link: http://americaindependentradio.com/ If they only get 1 channel, possibly African American Talk, but the full list is here : http://americanindepenentradio.blogspot.com/2011/01/air-is-nearing-finish-line.html
Inspire Radio Network - Not much online. Anyone got ideas?
Korean Radio Broadcasting, Inc. - Korean Radio - http://www.nyradiokorea.com/
KTV Radio Network - Not much, again - I'm open to ideas on this one.
Living River Ministries dba KDSH-FM - "Messianic Radio" - website at http://www.kdshfm.com/ already says their proposal to SXM was "not" approved.
Mainstreet Broadcasting Company, Inc. - Country - http://www.kspk.com/
Mark Byers - If I found the right person - Calvary Chapel Radio - http://calvaryroyaloak.org/radio/index.htm
Media Ventures Unlimited LLC - Hispanic Music - More at http://fjallfoss.fcc.gov/ecfs/document/view?id=6520173588
Mosaic Communications Partners, LLC. - Not much info. Open to suggestions, as above.
NABOB Satellite Ventures, LLC - Presumably African American targeted, but could be any format, or perhaps a block-formatted station.
Native Blend Broadcasters, LLC - Not much info - as above.
New Life Evangelistic Center, Inc - Religious / Renewable Energy Talk - Here's Help Network - http://hereshelpnet.org/
New World Broadcasting, Inc. - African American Blues/Gospel - http://www.kclf1500am.com/
Pacific Horizons Media, LLC - Not much info - as above.
Pacifica Foundation - Left-leaning talk format - http://www.pacifica.org/
Pan Desi - Desi (Second generation South Asian-American) format - http://www.pandesi.com/
Paramount Broadcasting Corp. - Agricultural or Country format ? - http://www.paramountbroadcasting.com/
Port Townsend Seventh-Day Adventist Church - Traditional Christian Radio - http://www.radioofhope.org/article.php?id=99
Powerful Radio Productions, Inc. - http://www.powerfulradio.com/ - 12 step meetings on the radio?
Radio Bilingue - Bilingual Hispanic Talk/Music - http://www.radiobilingue.org/index_en.htm
RSS Network Corp - Hispanic format - Not much info.
Sonlife Broadcasting Network - Jimmy Swaggart preaching & teaching - http://www.jsm.org/sonlife_radio.php
Southern Soul Music Group, LLC - Not much info.
Sunset Recordings, Inc. - Music (?) - http://www.sunsetrecordings.com/
Three Angels Broadcasting Network - Seventh-Day Adventist Christian Talk/Teaching/Preaching - http://www.3abnradio.org/
Unwind Productions, LLC - African American (?) - http://unwindproductions.com/aboutus.html
Urban One Broadcasting Network - African American (?) - Not much info
Veterans Radio Channel - Not much info. Presumably Veteran News/Talk.
Way Media, Inc. - Christian CHR/Rock - www.wayfm.com
Worldband Media, LLC. - "HumDesi Radio" or "Caribbean Radio" (?) - http://www.worldbandmedia.com/

No comments: